The Alsatian Little Venice
Walk through the streets of Colmar to discover the buildings that have retained the typical features of Alsatian architecture. Colmar is part of the essential step in your Alsatian trip!
Tourist sites of Colmar
The Dominican's church
The construction of the church began in 1283, ordered by the Dominicans. It was burned down in 1458, which reduced the roof and the cloister, which later required restoration work. For a very long time, the church was dedicated to secular purposes but in 1898 it became a place of worship.
Today, the place hosts temporary exhibitions including the one dedicated to the order of the Dominicans. While during the Christmas period, there is the exhibition “Exceptional Pieces” organized by the FREMA (Regional Federation of Artisans).
Little Venice, once inhabited by a community of winegrowers, market gardeners and boatmen, is located in the Krutenau district south of the historic center of Colmar. It begins behind Koïffhus, goes through the fish market and then to the bridges Turenne and Saint Pierre. The origin of his name comes from the original alignment of houses on both sides of the river as his counterpart in Venice, Italy.
The Unterlinden museum
The Unterlinden Museum has been awarded the Musée de France label and has been managed by Schongauer for more than 150 years. It houses the notable work: the altarpiece of Issenheim. The collection of this museum is very rich since it consists of Rhenish art, decorative arts, Alsatian arts and traditions, archaeological collections etc
The Pfister house
Built in 1537 for the hatter Ludwig Scherer, the house changes owners three times between 1790 and 1860. The name of the house is due to François Jean Pfister and François Joseph Pfister. In 1909, the new owners: the family Judin had it restored as it should be in the style of the Renaissance but with its medieval features. The House Pfister is part since 1927 historical monuments of France, this “certification” aims to protect historic buildings.
The Hansi Museum
The museum is dedicated to the illustrator and caricaturist Hansi, it is divided into two floors including the ground floor which is a reconstructed village of the 20s. Paving the floor reproduce an Alsatian square typical of his years, animated all over. year-round by regional artists and artisans. Upstairs, it is possible to discover more than 700 personal objects and works of the artist.
The house of the heads
The House of Heads holds the title of historical monument since December the 6, 1898. It is built in 1609 for the merchant Anton Burger, that Baudoin de Launoy acquired in 1698 and restored by Guillier in 1738. The building is Renaissance style of which The architect was named Hans Burger. The name of the monument owes to the 106 little human heads decorating the oriel and the mullions of the windows.
The quai de la Poissonnerie
The Pier de la Poissonnerie was the home of the city’s professional fishermen, who formed a powerful corporation until the first half of the 20th century. In 1709, a fire ravaged the place with about fifty houses, barns and stables. The neighborhood will benefit from restoration work from 1978 to 1981.
The toy museum
The museum houses toys from the nineteenth and twentieth century, it welcomes a wide audience in a fun and enchanting to discover the history of the toy. Georges Trincot and Pierre Patoor opened the museum in 1993 with the support of the city of Colmar. It will be possible to find the first Barbies, Playmobil, robots, small trains etc … arranged on three levels.
Khufus or Old Customs
The Koïfhus is the oldest building of the local public whose construction was completed in 1480 and during the fifteenth century and nineteenth century, two buildings were added and were restored between 1895 and 1898. Today, the interior of the building, the facade and its roofs are listed in the classification of historical monuments. The Ancienne Douane was the administrative and economic headquarters of the city at the time when Colmar was making its own currency. On the ground floor was taxed goods imported and exported while on the floor met the deputies of the Decapolis and the Magistrate. But nowadays, the building is used for public events and activities.
The Bartholdi Museum
The Bartholdi Museum is the birthplace of Auguste Bartholdi (1834-1904) where it will be possible to find his models of nine public monuments in Colmar, family furniture, personal souvenirs and American monuments that Bartholdi designed. A museum is dedicated to him because the artist is recognized throughout the world for his notable works: the Statue of Liberty and the Lion of Belfort.